The Latest...

New Release Round-Up 07-22-16

New Releases 22 Jul 16

LOOK PARK - Look Park - Yep Roc Records
Look Park is the debut album from Chris Collingwood, lead singer and founding member of Fountains of Wayne, under the moniker Look Park. It features his pop sensibilities and unmistakable vocals he made famous in Fountains. Similar to the way Fountains of Wayne chose its name based on a garden store that was located near the band's rehearsal space, Look Park takes its name from a park near Collingwood's home. The self-titled Look Park debut album was produced by Mitchell Froom (Elvis Costello, Crowded House, Sheryl Crowe, The Pretenders, Los Lobos). Look Park plans on touring in late summer beginning in the US, with UK and EU dates to follow.

CROWN THE EMPIRE - Retrograde - Rise Records
Art should confront and challenge convention, but Crown The Empire take it one step further. Since bursting onto the scene in 2012, Crown The Empire have shown no signs of slowing down on their undeniable course toward world domination. They have sold over 175,000 albums in the US over 2 releases, and have toured the world repeatedly with the likes of The Used, Of Mice & Men and Pierce The Veil. Crown The Empire are back with their new album, "Retrograde", the highly anticipated follow up to the band’s previous release, "The Resistance: Rise of the Runaways”, which debuted at #7 on the Billboard Top 200 with over 25,000 copies sold in its first week. “Retrograde” is Crown The Empire at their best, each song maliciously hand crafted. When you break it down, Crown The Empire are storytellers for a new generation; nothing is a mistake. Every detail, element, structure, chorus, and breakdown is planned, and the album flows like the plot of a theatrical film. There’s a reason why magazines have been putting Crown The Empire on their covers and there’s a reason the band gets offered multiple tours each quarter: it’s because fans truly believe in the band and care about what they’re doing. Their fan base is a cult-like army, who truly believe and support them. It’s what separates Crown The Empire from everyone else, and it’s why "Retrograde" is going to keep the band on their upward trajectory.

JACK & AMANDA PALMER - You Got Me Singing - Cooking Vinyl
2016 debut collaboration between ex-Dresden Dolls vocalist Amanda Palmer & her dad Jack, covering songs by Leonard Cohen, John Grant, Richard Thompson, Sinead O'Connor, Phil Ochs & others!

PERIPHERY - Periphery III: Select Difficulty - Sumerian Records
Considering Periphery's controversial yet progressive choice in January 2015 to simultaneously release two individual albums that equated to one larger piece of musical work, "highly anticipated" doesn't really begin to cover the general thoughts on the upcoming July 2016 release, Periphery III: Select Difficulty. PERIPHERY (Washington D.C.) have announced a headliner in North America for August 2016 in support of the album.

THE AMAZING - Ambulance - PTKF
The followup to 2015's acclaimed Picture You, Ambulance sees The Amazing continue their journey to a place where music is free of restrictions. Despite reflecting Chris Gunrup's often bleak worldview, the music is expansive and beautiful, marked by playing that’s as much free jazz as rock - pure music without any showiness. The songs unfold slowly, without a traditional verse/chorus structure, spinning gauzy webs of shimmering mystery with their own inimitable dynamic of sinuous, swirling guitars; rich, ambient bass lines; crisp percussion and restrained, church-like, keyboard textures. The stately tempos suggest a room full of shadows desperately reaching out for intimacy, but never quite making the connection. The songs brim over with tension and more implied release than actual relief. Gunrup is known for his reluctance to talk about his process and prefers to let the music speak for itself and if Picture You was brighter, exploding outward to explore the limits of experience, Ambulance is much more intimate. The mix denser and darker, the instruments pressing closer, crowding each other, imploding inward to reconnoiter the uncharted distances that exist between us, even in life’s most intimate moments. Sharing members with Sweden's psych forefathers Dungen, the album was recorded in just a few days in one tiny room at Stockholm's Buller & Bäng studio and delves into the hidden recesses of the heart, finding inner space to be just as expansive as the midnight sky. "The Amazing specialize in a beauty that isn’t airbrushed or slick or antiseptic... it's elemental rock—earthy, molten, aquatic, but uses each of their qualities to soothe rather than destroy or intimidate." - Pitchfork



Gucci Mane - Everybody Looking
Velvet Crush - Pre-Teen Symphonies
Matt Brown - Walk Into The Light
Hed - Forever!
We The Ghost - A Stereophonic Listening Experience
Dio - A Decade Of Dio: 1983-1993 [6CD Box Set]
Black Crown Initiate - Selves We Cannot Forgive
Dragonforce - Killer Elite [2 CD]
Candi Staton - It's Time To Be Free
Mstrkrft - Operator
Capsize - A Reintroduction: The Essence Of All That Surrounds Me
Forevermore - Integral
The Judge - The Judge
Stephen Marley - Revelation Part II: The Fruit Of Life

& More .....

Florida Georgia Line - May We All
Justin Moore - Kinda Don't Care
Young The Giant - Jungle Youth
Hillary Scott & The Scott Family - Love Remains
Ramones - Blitzkrieg Bop (Set 2) [Live At The Roxy, Hollywood, Ca (8/12/76)]

For more information on these and other releases out this week, check out our New Releases charts by week section and don't forget that many of these titles are also available on vinyl.


View more...

Music Releases 07-22-16

Look Park - Look Park Look Park - Look Park
New CD: $16.98   $13.98
Crown The Empire - Retrograde Crown The Empire - Retrograde
New CD: $12.98   $11.98
Gucci Mane - Everybody Looking Gucci Mane - Everybody Looking
New CD: $18.98   $15.98
Periphery - Periphery III: Select Difficulty Periphery - Periphery III: Select Difficulty
New CD: $13.98   $11.98
The Amazing - Ambulance The Amazing - Ambulance
New CD: $12.98   $11.98
Velvet Crush - Pre-Teen Symphonies Velvet Crush - Pre-Teen Symphonies
New CD: $16.98   $13.98
Matt Brown - Walk Into The Light Matt Brown - Walk Into The Light
New CD: $12.98   $11.98
Hed - Forever! Hed - Forever!
New CD: $15.98   $13.98
Heavy Drag - Sábana Ghost [Limited Edition] Heavy Drag - Sábana Ghost [Limited Edition]
New CD: $11.98   $10.98
Black Crown Initiate - Selves We Cannot Forgive Black Crown Initiate - Selves We Cannot Forgive
New CD: $13.98   $11.98
Dragonforce - Killer Elite [2 CD] Dragonforce - Killer Elite [2 CD]
New CD: $14.98   $12.98
Candi Staton - It's Time To Be Free Candi Staton - It's Time To Be Free
New CD: $9.98
Mstrkrft - Operator Mstrkrft - Operator
New CD: $16.98   $13.98
Despised Icon - Beast Despised Icon - Beast
New CD: $12.98   $11.98
Stephen Marley - Revelation Part II: The Fruit Of Life Stephen Marley - Revelation Part II: The Fruit Of Life
New CD: $13.98   $11.98
Unmerciful - Ravenous Impulse Unmerciful - Ravenous Impulse
New CD: $13.98   $11.98
Capsize - A Reintroduction: The Essence Of All That Surrounds Me Capsize - A Reintroduction: The Essence Of All That Surrounds Me
New CD: $13.98   $11.98
View more...

Movie Releases 07-22-16

Twisted Sister - Metal Meltdown [Blu-ray/CD/DVD] Twisted Sister - Metal Meltdown [Blu-ray/CD/DVD]
New Blu-Ray: $19.99
The Boss [Movie] - The Boss (Unrated) The Boss [Movie] - The Boss (Unrated)
New Blu-Ray: $34.98   $31.48
Criminal [Movie] - Criminal Criminal [Movie] - Criminal
New Blu-Ray: $39.99   $35.99
Hardcore Henry [Movie] - Hardcore Henry Hardcore Henry [Movie] - Hardcore Henry
New Blu-Ray: $34.98   $31.48
Sing Street [Movie] - Sing Street Sing Street [Movie] - Sing Street
New Blu-Ray: $34.99   $31.49
I Am Wrath [Movie] - I Am Wrath I Am Wrath [Movie] - I Am Wrath
New Blu-Ray: $24.99   $22.49
View more...